Skip to main content

These tips can help you avoid a DUI in Idaho

By July 19, 2017November 29th, 2017Drunk Driving

Idaho has strict DUI laws. As in the rest of the country, the blood alcohol concentration limit is .08 percent. If you are under 21, the BAC limit is .02 percent. That means that if you have an .08 percent or .02 percent BAC, respectively, you could be charged with a DUI.

As a young driver, one important thing to understand is how to avoid a DUI. Here are several methods to stay safe when you get behind the wheel. If you still find yourself accused of a DUI, then it’s time to defend yourself.

  • Don’t drink and drive

If you don’t have to drive, then it’s best not to. Even if you’ve only had a few drinks, it could be enough to put you over the .02 or .08 percent limit. There are many options for getting around today, from taking a taxi to using a ride-sharing service. If you’re caught with a high BAC behind the wheel, you can face charges. You may be able to defend your case if you can show that you had to drive for an emergency or had no other options.

  • Don’t drink underage

Those under 21 are not supposed to drink except in limited circumstances like religious ceremonies or at dinner with their guardians. Driving after either of those circumstances can be dangerous. Fortunately, if you’re accused of a high BAC that is lower than .08 at that time, you may be able to argue that you were drinking in a recognized and approved situation to defend yourself.

  • Stay in if you plan to drink

If you’re planning to have a drink or two while you’re with friends, consider staying overnight where you’re drinking. If you’re at a friend’s house, plan to stay there until the alcohol wears off. If your friends are coming over, plan to have them stay, so they don’t drive drunk.

Staying safe is your responsibility. If you choose to drink and drive and are arrested, you will need to defend yourself to make sure you can get back on the road in the future.

Palmer | George PLLC - CDA Law Not found